Here’s the good news: plantains are naturally gluten free. This is excellent news for people with celiac disease because plantains are so delicious, whether ripe, green, deep-fried, air-fried, baked, or boiled.
Here’s the not-so-good news: not all prepackaged plantains, like plantain chips, are entirely gluten-free. More on that below.
Table of Contents
Are Plantains Gluten Free? Including Green and Ripe Plantains?
Whether cooking up green plantains or ripe plantains, rest assured that both are gluten-free and vegan.
Green plantains are starchier, and in sweet plantains, the starch is converted to sugar, so there’s absolutely no gluten in any of these different variations of plantains.
However, if you’re monitoring your sugar intake, remember that green plantains have less sugar than ripe plantains.
Why Are Not All Prepackaged Plantain Snacks Gluten Free?
When prepackaged goods are prepped and packaged, they’re typically processed in large plants where they also prepare foods containing gluten, like baked goods.
So next time you’re shopping for fried plantains – like those delicious plantain chips, be cautious if you’re gluten intolerant or celiac.
I recommend reading the packaging for warnings.
According to this article from WebMD, nutritionists recommend plantains as a great source of prebiotic, resistant starch because they can feed good gut bacteria.
Here are some basic nutrition facts (this will vary based on the size of the plantain and how it’s cooked):
The average plantain has carbs but also a good amount of fiber. They’re high in vitamin C and Potassium.
Here Are Some Of My Favorite Gluten Free Plantain Recipes
Making a recipe with plantains is easy and delicious. You can go many routes, whether it’s a 20-minute boiled plantain recipe, a cozy and warm bowl of sopa de lentejas with plantains (lentil soup), easy air fryer plantain chips, air fryer plantain fritters, or patcones.
Are Sweet Plantains Gluten Free?
Yes, sweet plantains are gluten-free, but they do have a higher sugar content because the starch has converted to sugar in the ripening process.
Do Fried Plantains Have Gluten?
Fried plantains are gluten-free if the frying oil is not contaminated with gluten from other foods like breaded items or pastries.
Are Plantains Gluten Free
- 1 Green Plantain
- This is nutrition based on a medium green plantain.